well, long story short, we were supposed to leave for Philadelphia today, but when we put the key in the ignition, it wouldn't turn over. Not a battery problem, it just wouldn't catch. After a brutally long wait for the tow where they kept stringing us along on wait time, we got the car towed to a foreign auto shop not far from Mel's apartment. Got breakfast at a cafe nearby and headed downtown to make the most of our time while waiting.
Ate lunch at a food truck in the Boston commons and strolled around the park to kill time. The problem is that you don't know when they'all call, so you also don't want to commit to a super long activity. Despite being in a reasonably amazing spot to be waiting for your car, it ended up feeling like a wasted day.
Again, we got strung along a bi after bringing the car in early, hey had looked at it, but never called us and eventually, we just went back at 4:30 to get an up update. The owner was a nice guy, but was still out for the day, so, more waiting. We did talk to a couple of the mechanics who had, very frustrating and relievingly at the same time, gotten it to start right away.
When we did finally talk to the guy by 7:20 or so, he said they didn't have a great lead on what the problem was. We was going to look at a few things that night but had no guarantees. We initially leaned toward just holding up for the night in a hotel. But the uncertainty of actual improvement and the additional cost (both money and time) swayed us to just go for it. If it started once, it could go again. So we struck off towards Philadelphia trying for as far as we could.
Providence looked nice, if difficult to tell going 60 on the freeeway through it. Ended up in Sanford, Ct at a super inn. Very unexciting, but at least we knocked out a good portion of the drive.
Note- I'm in the future right now and we did indeed make it to philly just fine. Ready for NYC this morning via bus.
No comments:
Post a Comment